Campaigning for assembly polls in UP, Manipur ends today

Campaigning for assembly polls in UP, Manipur ends today

Campaigning for the sixth phase of assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh will end today and 49 constituencies spread over seven districts of eastern UP will go to polls in this phase on Saturday. These districts are Maharajganj, Kushinagar, Gorakhpur, Deoria, Azamgarh, Mau and Ballia. 635 candidates including 63 women are in the fray for this phase.
BJP is contesting 45 seats, while its ally Apna Dal one seat. BJP’s another ally Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party is contesting 4 seat. While BSP has fielded candidates on all 49 seats, SP is contesting 40 seats, and Congress 9 seats.
As per reports, rallies, public meetings and road shows are being organised by different political parties today, the last day of campaigning for the sixth phase.
BJP President Amit Shah will be conducting a road show today at Gorakhpur. Party has also organised road shows at Kushinagar and Azamgarh. Several union ministers and party leaders including Nitin Gadkari, Smriti Irani, Uma Bharati, Sadhwi Niranjan Jyoti, Manoj Sinha, Kalraj Misra, BJP UP president Keshaw Prasad Maurya and Apana Dal leader Anupriya Patel have hectic schedule in different districts going for poll in the last two phases.
Congress leader Gulam Nabi Azad will be at Gorakhpur and Maharajganj districts. Samajwadi Party leader Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav will be addressing rallies at Ballia and party’s star campaigner Dimple Yadav will be at Azamgarh. RJD leader Lalu Prasad Yadav will also campaign for SP-Congress alliance candidates in districts bordering Bihar.
BSP supremo Mayawati will address two rallies today at Chandauli and Sant Ravidas Nagar Bhadohi. Campaigning for the first phase of assembly elections in Manipur will also end today. A total of 38 constituencies will go to polls in this phase on Saturday. The remaining 22 seats will go to polls in the second and last phase on the 8th of this month. Counting of votes in all five states including Manipur will be taken up on the 11th of this month.

Previous India is ready to face any challenge: Defence Minister
Next House condemns behaviour of Amit Jogi, others by voice vote

About author

You might also like

Uttar Pradesh 0 Comments

EC asks BSP to send details of cash deposits in party’s accounts post demonetisation

The Election Commission has asked Bahujan Samaj Party to send its details of contributions received in cash and deposited in party’s bank accounts. The Poll Panel had drawn the attention

Uttar Pradesh 0 Comments

EC issues notice to UP CM for ‘bribery’ remark

The Election Commission has issued notice to Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav for his alleged bribery remark. Yadav, while addressing a meeting in Bhadohi on Saturday had allegedly said

State Politics 0 Comments

AGP demands to make public provisions of framework agreement with NSCN (IM)

In Assam, the ruling Bharatiya Janata party (BJP) has said that there would not be any compromise regarding the territorial integrity of the state. In a press release, state BJP

India Politics 0 Comments

Centre accords top priority to road safety on NH, says Gadkari

Road Transport and Highways Minister Nitin Gadkari today said the government has accorded top priority to road safety on National highways. Replying to supplementaries in the Lok Sabha on first day

Chhattisgarh 0 Comments

Hariprasad resigns from his responsibilities

Raipur, March 14 In a backdrop of defeat in recently held panchayat election in Odisha, senior Congress leader B K Hariprasad reportedly resigned from his responsibilities. However, Chairman of Chhattisgarh

India Politics 0 Comments

CPIM has become crime party: Naqvi

Union Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi today said CPIM has become crime party and they do not believe in democracy. His comments came in the wake of alleged attack on RSS


No Comments Yet!

You can be first to comment this post!

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply