Rohit, Parthiv named captains in Deodhar, Harbhajan in the mix

Rohit, Parthiv named captains in Deodhar, Harbhajan in the mix

The Indian selectors today named Rohit Sharma and Parthiv Patel as captains of the India ‘Blue’ and ‘Red’ side for the Deodhar Trophy tournament with senior off-spinner Harbhajan Singh coming back in contention after good performances in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Veterans Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Yuvraj Singh have been rested while Suresh Raina’s non-inclusion among 28 players raises doubts about his future in the 50-over format.

The third team in the tournament will be Vijay Hazare champions Tamil Nadu. The three wicketkeepers will be Parthiv for the Red team, Rishabh Pant for the Blue team and Dinesh Karthik for Tamil Nadu. Ishan Kishan is out with calf muscle injury.

Harbhajan has been economical in both Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy as well as Hazare Trophy. In the 50-over format, he bowled his full quota in all six matches with an economy rate of 4 runs per over taking nine wickets.

His inclusion means that he is being seriously considered for the Champions Trophy in England.

The tournament which will be the last 50-over competition before Champions Trophy also features likes of Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey all staking claim for a couple of batting slots that are up for grabs.

According to reliable sources in the BCCI, even Ashish Nehra is not playing the tournament as selectors have already seen him bowl in Vijay Hazare Trophy and are happy with his progress.

Nehra is however very much in the mix of pace bowlers considering his vast experience in English conditions.

Mohammed Shami, who got four wickets in Hazare final is not there as he may be picked for the final Test in Dharamsala.

Nehra will next be seen in action during IPL. The Deodhar Trophy gives them a chance to test some new pacers like left-arm quick Kulwant Khejroliya, who regularly clocks 140 kmph and was impressive for Delhi in Hazare league games.

For Rohit, it will be some welcome match practice as he is an automatic selection in the limited overs side. Shikhar Dhawan, who has been out of favour for some time also gets a chance to stake a claim for the third opener’s slot.

Kedar Jadhav is a certainty while Manish Pandey and Dinesh Karthik are likely to fight for one available slot in the middle-order.

The selectors have kept a nice blend of talented players as well as performers in domestic tournaments. Shreyash Iyer, Mandeep Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary are there in the teams. Hardik Pandya’s eleder brother Krunal, Punjab’s Gurkeerat Mann have been rewarded for good show in Hazare Trophy.

The inclusion of Khejroliya with five List A games and Karnataka’s Prasidh Krishna with seven 50 over matches under his belt shows that selectors are ready to punt on talent keeping an eye on the future.

To stay updated with more such news updates Download the Clipper28 Mobile App now.

India ‘Blue’: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Mandeep Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Rishabh Pant (wk), Deepak Hooda, Harbhajan Singh, Krunal Pandya, Shahbaz Nadeem, Siddarth Kaul, Shardul Thakur, Prasidh Krishna, Pankaj Rao

India ‘Red’: Parthiv Patel (Captain & wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Mayank Agarwal, Kedar Jadhav, Ishank Jaggi, Gurkeerat Mann, Axar Patel, Akshay Karnewar, Ashok Dinda, Kulwant Khejroliya, Dhawal Kulkarni, Govinda Poddar.

Bitly link of App 
Previous Ryan Reynolds bonded well with Jake Gyllenhaal during 'Life'
Next Inability to bowl us out will be hurting India, says Smith

About author

You might also like

Sports 0 Comments

Day 3 ends, RanchiTest: India 360/6 trail by 91 runs

Ranchi, March 18: India were 360 for 6 on the third day of Ranchi Cricket Test in reply to Australia’s 451 in first innings when stumps were drawn today. Cheteswar

Cricket 0 Comments

India vs Australia, 2nd Test Day 4: Australia 3 down in chase of 188

Australia 67/3 from 15 overs: WICKET! Umesh Yadav removes Shaun Marsh as umpire adjudged him LBW after Marsh did not offer a shot. Marsh ponders about a review, consults Smith

Cricket 0 Comments

I Can Easily Play Beyond 2019 World Cup, Says MS Dhoni

After Mahendra Singh Dhoni stepped down as India’s captain from the shorter formats of the game on 5 January 2017, the one question everyone asked was for how long will

Cricket 0 Comments

Kumble won’t ask Kohli and Co. to curb aggression

India coach Anil Kumble today said there was no need for his team to curb its aggression despite the din over on-field behaviour in what is turning out to be

Cricket 0 Comments

Bengaluru pitch rated ‘below average’ by ICC match referee

The pitch at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, which hosted the second Test between Australia and India last week, has been given a “below average” rating by the ICC

Cricket 0 Comments

Dharamsala Test: Injured Kohli ruled out, Australia bats first

Ajinkya Rahane is leading India in the deciding Test against Australia in Dharamsala, as skipper Virat Kohli was ruled out following a shoulder injury, causing a major blow to the


No Comments Yet!

You can be first to comment this post!

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply