Manohar Parrikar to be sworn in as Goa CM Today

Manohar Parrikar to be sworn in as Goa CM Today

Senior BJP leader Manohar Parrikar will be sworn in as chief minister of Goa today and Governor Mridula Sinha will administer him and other cabinet ministers the oath of office and secrecy at Raj Bhawan this evening.
The Governor invited Parrikar to form the next government in the coastal state after he submitted a letter of support from 21 legislators on Sunday. Three MLAs from the Goa Forward Party, three from the MGP and two Independents have pledged their support to Parrikar. The BJP has won 13 seats in the 40-member assembly and managed to garner support of regional parties and Independents.
Parrikar yesterday resigned as the Defence Minister to take over as Chief Minister of Goa. Parrikar, an engineer from IIT-Bombay, led the BJP in 2012 assembly elections to victory and became the Chief Minister. He, however, was made the Defence Minister at the Centre in 2014 and was succeeded by Laxmikant Parsekar as the Chief Minister.
Congress last night urged the Governor to invite the party to form the next government by virtue of being the single largest party.
In a memorandum submitted to the Governor, Congress Legislature Party (CLP) claimed that they have the requisite support and they can prove their majority on the floor of the House.
Congress yesterday also moved Supreme Court challenging Governor decision to appoint Parrikar as the chief minister. The hurriedly filed petition late in the evening was mentioned at the residence of Chief Justice JS Kehar, who agreed to give an urgent hearing today. The petition filed by Goa CLP leader Chandrakant Kavlekar has sought stay on the swearing-in of Parrikar as the chief minister.

Previous CAS upholds lifetime ban on Sergei Portugalov
Next Phogat family to attend Aamir's birthday bash

About author

You might also like

State Politics 0 Comments

Nitish rejects demand of CBI probe into paper leak case

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar has rejected NDA-led Opposition and IAS Association’s demand of a CBI inquiry into the question paper leak of clerical examination of Bihar Staff Selection Commission.

State Politics 0 Comments

Biren Singh elected leader of BJP legislature party in Manipur

In Manipur, BJP Legislature Party has unanimously elected N Biren Singh as it leader and He was elected at a legislature party meeting in Imphal yesterday in the presence of

State Politics 0 Comments

Congress to stake claim to form govt in Goa

In Goa, hectic parleys continued throughout the night for the formation of government. Congress has said that it would stake its claim to form government. Addressing a press conference at

Others State 0 Comments

J&K: Ram Madhav holds deliberations with party leadership

Srinagar, March 18: Ahead of Lok Sabha by-polls on two seats in Kashmir valley and election to six seats of Legislative Council falling on April 17, BJP national general secretary

Maharashtra 0 Comments

NCP terms Shiv Sena’s demand as laughable

The NCP has termed the Shiv Sena’s demand to allow opposition leaders and journalists at the cabinet meetings of Maharashtra government as laughable. The state NCP president Sunil Tatkare said

National 0 Comments

Amarinder Singh sworn-in as Punjab CM

Senior Congress leader Captain Amarinder Singh, has taken over as Chief Minister of Punjab and was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor VP Singh Badnore at Raj


No Comments Yet!

You can be first to comment this post!

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply