Campaigning for assembly polls in UP, Manipur ends today

Campaigning for assembly polls in UP, Manipur ends today

Campaigning for the sixth phase of assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh will end today and 49 constituencies spread over seven districts of eastern UP will go to polls in this phase on Saturday. These districts are Maharajganj, Kushinagar, Gorakhpur, Deoria, Azamgarh, Mau and Ballia. 635 candidates including 63 women are in the fray for this phase.
BJP is contesting 45 seats, while its ally Apna Dal one seat. BJP’s another ally Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party is contesting 4 seat. While BSP has fielded candidates on all 49 seats, SP is contesting 40 seats, and Congress 9 seats.
As per reports, rallies, public meetings and road shows are being organised by different political parties today, the last day of campaigning for the sixth phase.
BJP President Amit Shah will be conducting a road show today at Gorakhpur. Party has also organised road shows at Kushinagar and Azamgarh. Several union ministers and party leaders including Nitin Gadkari, Smriti Irani, Uma Bharati, Sadhwi Niranjan Jyoti, Manoj Sinha, Kalraj Misra, BJP UP president Keshaw Prasad Maurya and Apana Dal leader Anupriya Patel have hectic schedule in different districts going for poll in the last two phases.
Congress leader Gulam Nabi Azad will be at Gorakhpur and Maharajganj districts. Samajwadi Party leader Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav will be addressing rallies at Ballia and party’s star campaigner Dimple Yadav will be at Azamgarh. RJD leader Lalu Prasad Yadav will also campaign for SP-Congress alliance candidates in districts bordering Bihar.
BSP supremo Mayawati will address two rallies today at Chandauli and Sant Ravidas Nagar Bhadohi. Campaigning for the first phase of assembly elections in Manipur will also end today. A total of 38 constituencies will go to polls in this phase on Saturday. The remaining 22 seats will go to polls in the second and last phase on the 8th of this month. Counting of votes in all five states including Manipur will be taken up on the 11th of this month.

Previous India is ready to face any challenge: Defence Minister
Next House condemns behaviour of Amit Jogi, others by voice vote

About author

You might also like

India Politics 0 Comments

Election Commission sets time for Congress’s organisational polls

Election Commission has given six more months to Congress to hold organizational polls. The Commission has extended the deadline till 31st December for the organisational polls. However, it said there

India Politics 0 Comments

TS Rawat to take oath as Uttarakhand CM

In Uttarakhand, Trivendra Singh Rawat was today elected leader of the BJP legislative party. As per information received, he will take oath at 3 pm tomorrow. Related

State Politics 0 Comments

Nitish rejects demand of CBI probe into paper leak case

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar has rejected NDA-led Opposition and IAS Association’s demand of a CBI inquiry into the question paper leak of clerical examination of Bihar Staff Selection Commission.

Uttar Pradesh 0 Comments

Campaigning in its last stretch for election’s final phase

In Uttar Pradesh and Manipur intensive campaigning for the final phase of assembly election is seen as today is the last day for the canvassing. Leaders and star campaigners of

India Politics 0 Comments

Badal’s unfulfilled dream of being CM for 6th time

Eighty-nine-year-old Parkash Singh Badal’s dream of becoming the chief minister of Punjab thrice in a row and the sixth time overall will remain unfulfilled. The Shiromani Akali Dal patriarch failed

India Politics 0 Comments

EC orders repolling at 38 booths in Srinagar

Election Commission has ordered re-polling in 38 polling stations of Srinagar Lok Sabha seat and These polling stations fall under Chadoora, Budgam, Beerwah, Khan Sahib and Chrarisharief assembly constituencies. The


No Comments Yet!

You can be first to comment this post!

Leave a Reply