BJP registers victory in Uttar Pradesh MLC polls, wins 33 of 36 seats

Must Read

BJP registers victory in Uttar Pradesh MLC polls, wins 33 of 36 seats, After returning to power for the 18th legislative assembly for the second time in history, the BJP romped to victory in legislative council elections, winning 33 seats, including nine unopposed out of 36 vacant seats.

However, the party was unable to break the monopoly of convicted mafia don Brijesh Singh’s family in the Varanasi seat, as his wife Annapurna Singh was elected MLC for the second time in a one-sided election. She received 4,234 votes, defeating Umesh Yadav of the SP, who received 345 votes. Sudama Patel, the BJP’s nominee, received only 170 votes. Since 1998, the Brijesh family has maintained a stronghold on the Varanasi seat.

Arun Kant Yadav is the son of Samajwadi Party MLA Rama Kant Yadav, who won the Phulpur Pawai (Azamgarh) seat. Vikrant is the son of sitting MLC Yashwant Singh, who was expelled by the BJP a week ago for ‘anti-party activity.’

The Uttar Pradesh legislative council has 100 members, and on April 9, the state held elections for 36 vacant seats, with over 98 percent of 1.20 lakh voters electing MLCs for the next six years.

For the first time in decades, the BJP will have a majority in both chambers of Uttar Pradesh’s legislature once the results are officially announced.

There are currently 34 BJP MLCs, 17 Samajwadi MLCs, and four BSP MLCs.

Following the resounding victory in the MLC elections, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath congratulated the winning MLCs.

This time, no one from the Akhilesh Yadav-led SP won a seat.

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath congratulated winning MLCs after their resounding victory in the MLC elections. “Hearty congratulations and best and best wishes to all the freshly elected members of the Upper House of Uttar Pradesh,” he stated in two tweets.

“The BJP’s landslide victory in Uttar Pradesh’s local authority legislative council elections today has once again demonstrated that the state’s people support nationalism, development, and good governance under the guidance and leadership of the respected Prime Minister.”

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More Articles